How To Succeed as a Student (Introduction)

Welcome to my ‘How To Succeed as a Student’ series. As many of us are going back to school these days I am dedicating this series to all of you students out there.

I will for the next few weeks share my tips and tricks on
how to do, must haves and useful things to remember
when being in high school and college/university.

I hope some of you will find it useful and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any
questions, comments or just need someone to talk to. I’m just a message away.


My school experience

I’m not gonna lie I am a bit nerdy. I like studying, I like learning and I am good at it. I was the quiet but weirdly enough popular girl who found everything easy and learning wise was two grades ahead of her classmates. I am not writing this to brag or put anyone down because there’s nothing to brag about. I have been incredibly lucky of how my 13 years in school have worked out and I am very thankful for it. Being a good student is my “talent” like others are good at sports, being creative or something completely different. I will not be ashamed of that.

With that being said I am no where near the new Einstein or little miss perfect. When I was in high school I did not at all live up to my potential or my own and others expectations. My focus was more on being social, partying and spending time with my new friends and my (at the time) boyfriend instead of studying. I did every home assignment but I rarely did our regular homework and 90 % of the time I was unprepared for class. Today 5 years later I regret not realizing how important it was to get good grades from the beginning. It wasn’t until my third and last year of high school I pulled myself together and started taking school seriously. My grade average was exactly that. Average.

To be honest I don’t do average. As arrogant or big headed as that sounds it’s the truth. I knew I was one of the smartest in my class and decided that I just couldn’t live with myself if I graduated with an average point average than a great one. When I actually did graduate in 2012 I had in one year raised my grades from something equivalent to D’s and C’s to A’s and B’s. I am very proud of what I ended up with but to this day I know I could have gotten it even better if I had taken it seriously from day one.

However I am still in just SIX DAYS (wow) starting at university to study what I have been dreaming about for so long now. I can’t wait for it to begin and take you with me on this journey. It will be long and tough but so worth it.original_beyoutiful-pillowcase


Please understand that I do not want to sound ungrateful whatsoever because I do know how lucky I have been and still am. Not many get to have the school experience like I did. To way too many teenagers around the world just waking up and go to school is a daily battle. Life is tough enough as a kid and it most definitely do not become any easier as a teenager. Kids are cruel and sadly bullying, mental issues, eating disorders, anxiety etc is gradually becoming a bigger problem in our lives no matter where you are from.

If you are being bullied, life is tough at home, teachers are giving you a hard time or WHATEVER you are struggling with talk to someone who can help you. No one, and I mean NO ONE deserves to live an unhappy life and there is always help to get. It is just about taking that first step and admitting something is not right. It is not a defeat or a failure. It is being true to yourself  and realizing that YOU are important regardless of what anyone says or how bad they make you feel. 


To end this post I would just like to say that I hope you will enjoy this series and that you will find my tips and tricks useful.

If there is anything in particular you want me to write about or you have something you’d like to share comment down below or send me an e-mail at simplybeingyoung@hotmail.com. Thanks!

Lots of love

 Tess signature handwritten

Let me know your thoughts

