Moving Out For The First Time

 Monday evening I tweeted this and here is why! 

Moving out

Wednesday evening last week I coincidentally stumbled upon the perfect apartment online. I immediately wrote an e-mail to the owner and Monday afternoon I went with my parents to have a look at the place. I fell in love with it instantly and I am now very excited to say it will be my very first home all on my own! Can’t believe it’s finally happening… I am 21 years old so it was bound to happen soon but that it would happen this fast was definitely not something I had planned.

I guess everything happens for a reason and I was extremely lucky that everything went as it did. So October 1st I get the keys to my very own one bedroom apartment. I am beyond excited and so ready to prove not only to my parents but to myself as well that I can live on my own with every responsibility it involves.

This probably sounds weird but the fact that I get the keys October 1st means something special to me. October 1st will be the two year anniversary of the passing of my beloved grandfather and tomorrow would have been his birthday. Tomorrow is also the day I sign the lease. I don’t know but I just like to think that he’s a part of this and has send me a little helping hand from above. Maybe it’s just a coincidence, I don’t really care, so tomorrow I will go down to his beautiful little  place, wish him a happy birthday and thank him for everything.

Getting my own place will be a new chapter in my life.

I have a lot of mixed feelings about moving out but I think that’s pretty normal. Finally being on my own and living my life exactly how I want to and taking care of everything myself is a big responsibility but I can do it. I’m ready! Now I just have to get the apartment ready and packing down my stuff. And throwing out soooo much. I don’t think you realize how much crap I have gathered these past years. Calling me a part timer hoarder wouldn’t be completely wrong! If you ever need a phone from 2001 or coloring books from fourth grade just give me a ring I have a bunch. And no I am not kidding. (That’s probably the saddest thing I have ever written).Moving out, first home, key

I can’t wait to share it all with you guys and bringing you with me on my home hauls, DIY projects, apartment tour and just my general thoughts about this very important step in my life.

I hope you are ready and just as excited as I am (and that’s a lot!)

Lots of love,

Tess xx

8 thoughts on “Moving Out For The First Time

  1. That is brilliant,congratulations. I have lived here there and everywhere over the past few years but I do need to move out and get my own place again, just can’t afford it on my own though! 😦 I don’t envy you the packing task though. As a fellow hoarder myself I know what a difficult task it will be!

    Amy at amynmore.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

    • Thanks love! xx I can’t wait to actually be my own “parent” so to speak 😀 It’s going to be difficult getting used to not being able to do random shopping sprees and hauls but it’s gonna be worth it!

      Like

  2. Pingback: 100 Happy Days: day 8-15 | Simply Being Young

  3. Pingback: Living On My Own Update | Simply Being Young

Let me know your thoughts

