When Your Friend Loses A Loved One

“A friend gives hope when life is low. A friend is a place when you have nowhere to go. A friend is honest, a friend is true. A friend is precious, a friend is you”
– unknown

We’ve all been there –losing someone we love. I have a few times and each and every single time it has been completely heartbreaking. But what do you do when you aren’t the one who loses someone? What if that person who just have had their world completely turned upside down is your friend?

I didn’t know when I was in that situation and to be honest I still don’t know for sure. All I know is that these past three months I had to watch my best friend going through the worst time of her life. It killed me every single day seeing her so unhappy and knowing I couldn’t say anything or do anything to make it better. All I could do was and still is to be there when she needs me to. I have spent so many hours talking with our mutual friend and my mom about it because even though it isn’t you who’s losing someone it still affects you deeply. Make sure you take care of yourself as well as your friend.You never know how strong you are...-0Auntil being strong is the only choice you have

One of the things I have learned is how important it is to talk about it. Don’t pretend it’s not happening and by all means do not make it taboo. In my case my friend’s mom was very ill and everything went very quickly – quicker than anyone could ever imagined. Each week something new had happened and as things got worse I felt more and more useless. What do you say, what do you do?

I am so grateful I don’t understand 100 % of what she’s going through but I do know how it is to lose someone due to illness. I know how hard it is to be the closest family and to watch someone you love more than anyone in the world disappear in front of your eyes. So I used that. Another thing I did was to make sure she didn’t miss anything at school. I went to every lecture and sent her all of my notes. She’s the type of person that
gets stressed very easily when it comes to school and exams so if I could help her worry less about that I would at least feel like I did some good.

There’s the kind of support we ask for, the kind we don’t ask for and the kind that just shows up. In sad times some people have a hard time reaching out so make sure you are there for them even if they don’t ask you. Call them, text them, tell them you love them and be ready to drop everything and show up at their door with a box of tissues, comfort food and a shoulder to cry on. Hug them, be with them and go to the funeral if you can. Just be there. 

It’s in the worst times we discover who our true friends really are.

I know you are reading this C – I love you and I’m here for you ♥


I am sorry for the lack of post these past few weeks but I have as you’ve read had a lot on my plate. I’ve had  a lot of ideas and made many drafts but I just haven’t seemed to be able to actually finish a post. Tonight I figured out why –I can’t write if I have something on my chest.

This blog is for the world to see, but it’s also a place for me to express my thoughts and deal with everything – good or bad – in my life.

Thank you for reading ♥

Have you ever been in my situation? Tell me your thoughts in the comments below. Would love to hear from you x

Lots of love

Tess signature

Quotes, sayings, losing, grief, friend

5 thoughts on “When Your Friend Loses A Loved One

  1. A lovely post and your friend is lucky to have you. Loosing a loved one is horrible I have learnt from first hand experience. Having friends that care and do things to make life easier are worth their weight in gold Lucy

    Like

  2. Pingback: That Feeling Of Being Lost | Simply Being Young

Let me know your thoughts

