5 Tips on How To Study Smart

Do you ever find yourself in the situation where you should be studying really hard but somehow always end up doing basically everything else?

Well then you are like me. Ever since uni started I have been struggling to keep up with my homework. It’s not that I don’t have the time to do it as I only have lectures two times a week for two hours (insert really happy face) and I don’t have that many hours at work either. I am just too lazy to be bothered to actually get shit done. It had to be said. The first step to solving your problem is admitting you have one, right?

SO as I have my first two exams in just two weeks (omg) I have decided to finally pull myself together and start using my days off to actually study starting today. I am currently sitting in my local library where I’ve been the past 3 hours and I have done nothing but my course work! I am actually really proud of myself.

I decided (before I go back to my homework) to whip together a few of my favorite tips to make studying easier and much more enjoyable. Hope it helps you!


1) MAKE A PLAN

If you have loads of studying to do it can seem very overwhelming and unmanageable and might even discourage you from actually getting started.  What I do is to list everything I need to do and I categorize in priorities and what kind of homework. It could look something like this (this is actually my to do list today – then you can see what I have to deal with on a regular basis haha):

To read:

  • Chapter 10-11 in….
  • Summary of chapter 1, 3, 6 in …..
  • Science and Philosophy homework page…
  • Humanities homework page…

To write:

  • Essay for the seminar next week
  • Corrections for our project
  • Summary of chapter 10-11

2) AVOID DISTRACTIONS

Make sure you study somewhere you can concentrate without distractions. For example I suck a studying at home because it’s way too easy for me to turn on the TV or go on Facebook instead of reading.

You need to go to a place that’s either a place without the distractions you normally give in too. If you are like me who ends up doing anything else on your computer but studying go somewhere where you don’t want people to see you watching fail compilations on YouTube or funny pictures on Tumblr.

Are you the type of person who ends up spending more time running between your fridge and your computer than studying go somewhere where there’s no food.

Don’t like people or noises around you? Go somewhere where you can be completely on your own.

This may sound obvious to some but often we don’t even realize what keeps us from doing our work before having it black on white.

3) NEVER STUDY ON AN EMPTY STOMACH

It is scientifically proven that we learn the best when our physical needs are taken care of. Have a good meal before studying and have some healthy snacks and water around you to keep your bloodsucker stable.

4) TAKE BREAKS 

After all this brain exercise you need a break. I usually work for about an hour and then have anywhere between 5-30 minutes of break depending on how I feel.

If you are on a roll and your creative juices are flowing (what a lovely expression) then forget about the breaks and just go go go! At some point you will find yourself losing concentration and you start to make spelling mistakes and other bits and bobs you usually don’t do and this is the moment where you need to step away from your computer or whatever you’re doing and do something else.

Get some food, have a drink, check your notifications on Facebook or watch an episode of Friends. Listen to your body and your mind — it will tell you exactly what it needs.

5) IDENTIFY WHAT TYPE OF STUDENT YOU ARE

  • Are you the type of student who likes to have music in the background or complete silence?
  • Do you prefer writing notes during or after you’ve read a text?
  • How long do you need to finish a text or assignment? Do you read/type quickly or slowly?
  • Do you wish to have someone near you who can help you when you’re stuck or having questions?
  • Are you a laptop or hand writing person?
  • Do you want access to internet all the time or none at all?
  • Do you learn better studying alone, with a friend or in a group?
  • Are you most concentrated and motivated during the day or at the night time?
  • Do you work best at a desk or in your bed?
  • Do you prefer being done in advance or working under pressure?

tips for studying, Studying definitions

These are just some of the questions you need to ask yourself before to find out what’s just right for you.

If we take me for example:

I ready very quickly and I know I don’t need much time to read and understand a text. If I do write down notes it’s always whilst reading and on my computer. I need silence but not complete silence. I never listen to music whilst studying because it distracts me (especially if it songs I know the lyrics to). I work best on my own or with just one next to me and that person HAS to be on my level. I need all time access to the internet and I need to have breaks ever so often. For example I have just written this whole post in go and I can feel my brain is getting fried and I’m having a harder time concentrating. I work best under pressure but I don’t like to be stressed.

I know all of this based on experience and it has taken me quite some time to figure out – but that doesn’t mean it has to take a lot of time for you!


Thanks for reading – I hope you found my five tips for better and smarter studying useful!

If you want more of these types of posts
please comment down below or push the like button (I’ve watched too many YouTubers)
so I know to do more in the future 🙂

 

How do you study best? Let me knoooooow.

tess signature handwritten

 

P.s. I’ve done several of these posts – check them out here if you like. 

3 thoughts on “5 Tips on How To Study Smart

  1. You basically feel like my conscience right now haha! I have an exam in 2 weeks too, and did badly in my last coursework so definitely need to take note….planning is the only way it’s just fun to deviate 😉 xx

    Like

Let me know your thoughts

