I Am Not Shy, I Am Introvert

introvert extrovert

A few weeks ago I read an article that made me realize something about who I am that I’ve never been able to explain myself. I am introvert.

So what is an introvert exactly?

Quite simply, an introvert is someone who finds being with people too much drains them of energy, and who finds they need to recharge by being on their own. That’s all it is. 1/4 people are introvert but most people don’t realize they are which can cause them feeling anxious or panicky as they don’t fully listen to themselves and what their mind need. To be frank they are like me.

For many people your teen years are the years you go out 3-4 nights a week, party, flirt, drink, go on dates and basically spend time with people 24/7. I am not one of those people. I like going out, I like being with friends and do enjoy a party once in a while. But if people call me up and are like ‘hey wanna go out tonight?’ 99% of the time I say no (or want to say no). Why? Because I simply don’t enjoy it. Just the mere thought about what to wear, where to go, what to do, who is going to be there and so much more stresses me out. I wish I didn’t feel this way but I do. When I actually am out most of the time I just want to go home or sit at a table talking to people I am comfortable with.

introvert extrovert

The worst part of being introvert is how other more extrovert people see you. Oh she’s so boring, she never wants to do anything. That’s not true at all. I love being social but I need my space and I need time by myself. If there is too much chaos or too many things going on at the same time I can’t handle it and get stressed. Weirdly enough this only happens to me when I go out with friends or feel anxious towards people. I have no problem being in those situations when it’s work or school related or when I am in the right mind frame. However it is so tiring having to come up with good excuses for not going when in reality I just don’t want to. Sadly for some reason that’s just not an acceptable excuse. If you say that you just don’t feel like it you are instantly labeled as boring, weird, shy, you name it.

The article made me realize I am not the only one feeling this way. I am not the only one who prefer a night in. I am not the only one who gets stressed and anxious in big crowds. I am not the only one who doesn’t like impulsive last minute plans. I am not the only one that doesn’t have the need to be around people every second of the day. That’s just not how I am and that’s totally okay.

introvert

Extrovert people can do their thing as much as they want to but don’t force me to do it, if it makes me unhappy. I would never make anyone stay at home on a Friday night watching Netflix with me if they don’t want too or judge them if they said no. So why is it okay for them to do the opposite?

I’m just being who I am. And maybe that’s how you are too?

I hope this post will help people realize that being introvert is okay. It’s not better or worse than being extrovert it’s just another type of personality. People should accept and respect each other for what and who they are and just appreciate having different types of people in our lives with whom you can create different types of memories with. We can’t all be the same. Be with people who makes you happy and understand you and your ways and stay true to yourself. That’s the best thing you can do.

 

tess signature handwritten

 

 

5 thoughts on “I Am Not Shy, I Am Introvert

  1. I don’t want to mingle with people most of the time because I have a very low tolerance for them. I prefer to just be in my own company… I don’t have to deal with any drama or conflict… There are times, however, when I wish I did have friends to hang out with because it could get a bit lonely especially when I have nothing to do or if I’m feeling down.

    Like

    • I know exactly how you feel. I am the person who doesn’t have a lot of friends but just very few close ones (basically just one). So I totally get how you feel! If I feel a bit lonely but don’t feel like necessarily be really social or chatty I just spend the night at my parents’ house 🙂

      Like

  2. Love this post! So many people don’t understand the difference between shy and introverted!

    -Lacey from DDoL // dailydoseoflacey.blogspot.com

    Like

Let me know your thoughts

