Why Travelling Changed My Life

To Travel Is To Live

A year ago today I was on a plane flying to the other side of the world about to start the biggest adventure of my life. I spent two months traveling around the Maldives and Sri Lanka with 14 other young people, who I didn’t even know until the day we met in the airport. I have never been more challenged in my entire life than the two months I was away. I chose a package full of adventure because I knew that way I would get experiences I wouldn’t get if I had planned the trip myself. I am not a fit person whatsoever. I can’t run miles and miles (I can’t even run one lol), I am not muscular in any way and I have the stamina of a 90 year old. However on the trip I had to surf, build fires, climb mountains, go up a ridiculous amount of stairs (I still feel traumatized), rappel down a mountain side, jump of cliffs, surf and so much more. I was physically and mentally challenged in every way, and you know what? I did it! In those two months I learned more about myself than I ever thought possible. I learned how much I can take both mentally and physically, I learned to push and break my boundaries but also to respect when a boundary couldn’t be pushed anymore. I learned to say no but I also learned to say yes, and for that I am so thankful for that night in October where my mom uttered the most simple but important words, she has ever said to me; “why don’t you just book it? What’s holding you back?”.  If you are considering taking a gap year and go travel, DO IT. I promise you, you are not going to regret it. You just have to go for it and get out of your comfort zone. How can you know what you are capable of doing if you don’t challenge yourself and put yourself in situations you aren’t familiar with? Remember: travelling is the only thing you buy that makes you richer. If you have any questions about gap years, backpacking, travelling or anything else just comment down below, tweet me or e-mail me at simplybeingyoung@hotmail.com. I promise to reply as soon as possible x  Lots of love

Backpacking

Power to the girls after climbing a(nother) mountain!

Backpacking

After jumping off cliffs, climbing on rocks and generally acting like a total bad ass WE FELT BAD ASS.

Backpacking

Went whale watching at stupid AM, felt seasick, jet-lagged and slept 90 % of the time but saw a few blue whales up close when I was yeah well alive.

We worked in the tea fields along the side the coolest women I've ever met

We worked in the tea fields along the side the coolest women I’ve ever met

Sri Lanka Nature

The beauty that is Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Holiday

We celebrated a Buddhist holiday and I have never felt more watched. Imagine being one out of 14 white people among 5000 people from Sri Lanka. Damn that was intense.

Sri Lanka

Two seconds later this little guy jumped onto one of the girls and pooped on her.

Backpacking

We visited a local school and spent the day with the happiest kids on earth.

The Maldives

A beach in the Maldives. No edit whatsoever.

Elephants in Sri Lanka

I was actually this close. Wow.

 What’s your greatest travelling memory?

6 thoughts on “Why Travelling Changed My Life

  1. Wow it looks like you had an amazing time!! My boyfriend and I just applied for 2 year visas for Canada last night! I can’t wait to start travelling! It’s not as exotic as the Maldives and Sri Lanka, but it’s a start! 🙂

    Chrissy x
    http://www.chrissylilly.com

    Like

      • Oh where abouts were you? We’re gonna settle down!! We’ll do a bit of travelling throughout the two years, I’m sure, but we just want to experience living in another country!

        Like

Let me know your thoughts

