It’s OK Not To Be a Super Human

It's ok not to be a superhuman

Very often I find myself stressing and worrying about everything I have to do, and when I don’t get around to do them I feel guilty and a bit like a failure.  I set myself these ridiculous high expectations for what I have to get done in a day, so many that it often ends up being discouraging to the point I barely get anything done (if anything at all). I am my own worst enemy when it comes to expectations, and I try way too hard to do everything at once. That means I end up doing everything halfhearted. When I study, I think about not having done the dishes yet. When I am at work, I think about not having been to the gym that day. When I chill on the internet, I feel guilty for not having tidied my flat. You get the point. When I do something, I stress about all the other things I need to do/should do/convinced myself I need to do, and feel like an emotional mess.

This post is a reminder to myself and everyone else feeling overwhelmed by, yeah well, life, that we can’t all be super humans all the time. It’s okay to not do anything for a whole day. It’s okay not to do your homework the second you come home from school. It’s okay not picking up that extra shift, and it is okay to spend the night in front of the TV. Most importantly it is okay admitting to yourself you can’t do everything at once.

Iit’s not the end of the world if some things don’t happen today. Take one thing at a time and commit to that.

That’s something I need to work on.

Lots of love

Any kind of help or advice on this matter is highly appreciated! x 

16 thoughts on “It’s OK Not To Be a Super Human

  1. I’m totally the same! I set myself such big goals that I want to do absolutely everything at once! It can get so overwhelming! I’m trying to become a better “singletasker” this month. It’s been refreshing to focus on one thing at a time for a change!

    Chrissy x
    http://www.chrissylilly.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a good idea! We’ve always been told multitasking is a great thing to be able to do, but sometimes “singletasking” is much better! Will have to keep that in mind 🙂 x

      Like

  2. I can relate so much to this! I always expect so much from myself and so many people tell me to slow down because it wears me out! Everything has to be perfect and exactly the way I want it and I can really have a hard time accepting when it turns out differently. Sometimes it even turns out better than it would have otherwise, but then it’s still not perfect somehow. I don’t know, I hardly understand it myself to be honest haha.

    Sofie xx
    itsjustsofie.com

    Like

  3. You’re an incredible person, have you tried to make yourself small goals to give you that little boost, you can get anything done, I know you can do it! ❤

    Like

Let me know your thoughts

